

WASHINGTON, DC · BRUSSELS · LONDON · WWW.ICI.ORG

Investment Company Institute Re-Elects Chairman, Elects Board Members, October 2001

Investment Company Institute Re-Elects Chairman, Elects Board Members

Washington, DC, October 5, 2001 - The Investment Company Institute's Board of Governors today elected Terry K. Glenn, Chairman of the Americas and President of Merrill Lynch Funds, Merrill Lynch Investment Managers, to a second consecutive one-year term as its Chairman.

As Chairman, Mr. Glenn presides over the Board of Governors, the governing body of the Institute, whose members include mutual funds, closed-end funds, and unit investment trusts. The Board is responsible for setting policy and overseeing activities of the national association of the American investment company industry. Mr. Glenn is also a member of the Institute's Executive Committee.

Also elected as members of the Board were 15 industry leaders. Governors are elected annually to staggered three-year terms. The newly elected Governors, with terms expiring September 30, 2004, include:

Lynn L. Anderson, Frank Russell Investment Management Co.

Mark S. Casady, Zurich Scudder Investments, Inc.

Christopher M. Condron, AXA Financial Inc.

Jeff B. Curtis, Columbia Funds Management Co.

Martin L. Flanagan, Franklin Resources, Inc.

Terry K. Glenn, Merrill Lynch Investment Managers

Robert H. Gordon, Banc of America Advisors LLC

James B. Hawkes, Eaton Vance Corp.

Ann R. Leven, Independent Director - Delaware Funds

Alfred E. Osborne, Jr., Independent Trustee - WM Group of Funds

John W. Rogers, Jr., Ariel Capital Management, Inc.

Michael H. Santo, Van Kampen Investments, Inc.

Brian M. Storms, Brinson Advisors

Peter E. Sundman, Neuberger Berman Management Inc.

David C. Weinstein, Fidelity Investments

The following individuals were elected to fill open positions on the Board of Governors:

Stephen E. Canter, The Dreyfus Corporation

George C.W. Gatch, J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

John V. Murphy, OppenheimerFunds, Inc.

Governors who will continue to serve on the Board are:

John J. Brennan, The Vanguard Group, Inc.

John D. Carifa, Alliance Capital Mgmt. L.P.

John D. DesPrez, III, Manulife Financial Corporation

Robert S. Dow, Lord, Abbett & Co.

Martin E. Galt, III, TIAA-CREF Investment Management, LLC

Robert H. Graham, AIM Management Group Inc.

Charles E. Haldeman, Jr., Delaware Investments

Brent R. Harris, Pacific Investment Management Company LLC

David F. Hill, SAFECO Mutual Funds

David R. Hubers, American Express Financial Advisors Inc.

Manuel H. Johnson, Independent Director - Morgan Stanley Funds

Lawrence J. Lasser, Putnam Investments

William M. Lyons, American Century Investments

Bruce K. MacLaury, Independent Director - Vanguard Funds

John P. McGonigle, Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.

Mitchell M. Merin, Morgan Stanley Investment Management

William G. Papesh, WM Advisors, Inc.

Marguerite A. Piret, Independent Trustee - Pioneer Funds

Thomas O. Putnam, Fenimore Asset Management, Inc.

James S. Riepe, T. Rowe Price Associates, Inc.

Arnold D. Scott, MFS Investment Management

Edward A. Taber, III, Legg Mason, Inc.

Stephen B. Timbers, Northern Trust Global Investments

Peter S. Voss, CDC IXIS Asset Management North America

Mark B. Whiston, Janus

Patricia K. Woolf, Independent Director - American Funds

Brian T. Zino, J. & W. Seligman & Co. Incorporated

David M. Znamierowski, Hartford Life Insurance Company.

Copyright © by the Investment Company Institute. All rights reserved. Information may be abridged and therefore incomplete. Communications from the Institute do not constitute, and should not be considered a substitute for, legal advice.