News Release

News Release

ICI Congratulates New SEC Commissioners

Welcomes new commissioners and thanks Commissioner Lee for her service

Washington, DC; June 16, 2022—The Investment Company Institute (ICI) congratulated Jaime Lizárraga and Mark Uyeda after they were unanimously confirmed today by the United States Senate to serve as commissioners on the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC):

“ICI congratulates Jaime Lizárraga and Mark Uyeda on their confirmation by the Senate to the SEC. Their insights will greatly benefit the Commission as it tackles a range of complex issues facing long-term individual investors,” said ICI President and CEO Eric Pan.

“Jaime Lizárraga is well-known to ICI as an influential advisor to the Speaker of the House, Nancy Pelosi. He is well-versed in all aspects of financial regulation and has played a key role in shaping much of the legislation governing the investment fund industry for the past decade. He will bring a valuable perspective to the Commission, and we are grateful that he will be continuing in public service as a commissioner.

“Mark Uyeda is a superb addition to the Commission. He has had an extensive career in securities law, including spending 15 years as an SEC attorney in the Division of Investment Management. Mark has also served as counsel or an adviser to Chair Jay Clayton, Acting Chair Michael Piwowar, and Commissioner Paul Atkins, in addition to his time as an attorney with the Senate Banking Committee. I also applaud the fact that Mark’s accomplishments have resulted in his confirmation as the first Asian Pacific American to serve as a commissioner on the SEC.

“I look forward to working with both Jaime and Mark as they take leadership roles at the Commission.

“ICI also wishes to pay tribute to Commissioner Allison Herren Lee upon her impending departure from the SEC. She leaves a legacy of championing the interests of individual investors and a history of thoughtful engagement with ICI on a wide variety of matters during her time as Commissioner and Acting Chair. We wish her all the best for the future.”